Hello From the New OID Board!

Hello and Happy (belated) New Year from the New OID Board!

As we all emerge from our holiday food comas, return from exotic vacations and  recover from the polar vortex, we wanted to introduce you to your new OID board. We look forward to working with you! Have any questions, ideas or suggestions you would like to talk to OID about for the coming year? Send them our way at oid@gwu.edu.

 Mo OIDMohammad Hamze, President: My name is Mohammad Hamze, and I am from Austin, Texas by way of Lebanon.  I completed my undergraduate at the University of Texas and spent the subsequent year throughout Africa before enrolling in the IDS program.  In development, I am interested in aid politicization, human rights, and humanitarian assistance, as well as investigating broader questions about the causes of poverty, and effective means of poverty reduction.  Since joining IDS, I have worked primarily as a research assistant in the Department of Global Health, International Education, and at the Elliott School.  In my non-IDS life, I enjoy traveling, the outdoors, creating, and I am passionate about all things soccer.

 image copy

Zherong Kang, Vice President: I graduated from GW in 2012 where I studied economics and international affairs. I worked in the education sector in China for a year before coming to the IDS program. By serving on the OID board, I wish to make deeper connections with fellow IDS students. I am looking forward to meeting new people and hosting exciting events.

megan picture-2

Megan Shea, Social Events Chair: After spending half a year working for a small poverty non-profit and studying in Santiago, Chile I returned to graduate in 2013 from American University. Originally from Denver, Colorado, I have spent the last five years living and working in DC for several different development organizations. My interests lie mainly in culture and global health, but I can be convinced to pretty much work on anything. A lover of photography, baking, and nature, I can’t wait to plan lots of fun events and get togethers for IDS. Get excited

8926_667988219206_4521301_n

Caitlin Krutsinger, Social Media Chair:  After finishing my BA in English at the University of Oregon, I took off for Mozambique, were I spent three years as a Peace Corps Volunteer teaching high school English and working with community groups on HIV/AIDS prevention, sexual health education and small business development. After Peace Corps, I returned home to Portland, OR, and worked for about two years in International Education. Professionally, I’m interested in the intersections between gender, reproductive health and business. When I’m not IDS-ing, I love distance running, experimenting with gluten-free and vegan cooking (even though I am neither), wandering the Smithsonian museums, generally being out and about in the outdoors, and practicing yoga.

scott (1) copy

Scott Neilitz, Treasurer: I’m Scott Neilitz, originally from Green Bay, WI. I went to Carthage College in Kenosha, WI where I studied International Political Economy. Shortly after college, I spent two years freezing in Kazakhstan working as an English Education Volunteer with the Peace Corps. I detoured into working on campaigns in Wisconsin and Montana before finally settling in the IDS program here at the Elliott School. Currently, I have an emphasis on economic development. I speak French, Russian, and a bit of Spanish. As for hobbies, I enjoy cooking, playing/watching soccer, playing drums, camping, and brewing beer. I’m a jack of all trades, ready to serve as treasurer for OID.

